Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

20th Anniversary of ConnectNY - Featured Collections

Highlighting a different institutional member’s virtual special collections exhibition, or a selection of digital collection resources, each month.

Timothy L. Woodruff Papers: A Digital Resource

The Timothy Lester Woodruff Papers: A Digital Resource is a rich resource of primary source material that document the political career and entrepreneurship of Timothy Lester Woodruff (1858-1913), who served as a three-term Lieutenant  Governor of New York and as the first President of the Board of Trustees of Adelphi College. Housed at the Adelphi University Archives and Special Collections, this collection consists of over 6,000 correspondence, manuscripts, brochures, and ephemera largely written from 1903 to 1910 between Woodruff and various politicians, business associates, and family members. The purpose of the project is to create a fully searchable, web-based digital repository that will allow researchers interested in early 20th century New York and United States politics and the early history of Adelphi University accessibility to digital surrogates of the material.

To view our other digital collections, go to https://uascdigital.adelphi.edu/.

Adelphi: The Brooklyn Years (1863-1928)

The origins of what would become Adelphi University reach back to the Civil War period when, in 1863, two preparatory school teachers established a small school in northwestern Brooklyn. The brownstone where they began holding classes was located on Adelphi Street, and they chose to adopt the name of the street as the name of their school—Adelphi Academy.

From its modest beginnings as a prep school with fewer than 30 enrolled students, Adelphi Academy would grow over the course of the second half of the nineteenth century alongside the rapidly expanding city of Brooklyn. Adelphi College, an outgrowth of Adelphi Academy’s collegiate division, received its charter and was incorporated, in 1896, as a fully accredited degree-granting institution of higher education (at the time becoming one of only two colleges, and the only coeducational liberal arts college, in Brooklyn). 


This exhibition highlights the 65 years of Adelphi history which precedes the 1929 relocation of what was then Adelphi College to Garden City.

To view the digital exhibition, click here: Adelphi: The Brooklyn Years (1863-1928)

 

 

 

 

 

Adelphi College faculty eating popsicles, 1921.