Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

20th Anniversary of ConnectNY - Featured Collections

Highlighting a different institutional member’s virtual special collections exhibition, or a selection of digital collection resources, each month.

Vassar College Libraries

Through our digital collections, Vassar College Libraries aim to provide access to high-quality digital content generated by the Libraries for research and study, as open as possible; support the teaching, learning, and research needs of the College; preserve at-risk or fragile physical collections through digitization, or at-risk born-digital collections through reformatting; expose hidden, less-used physical collections through access to digital surrogates; and foster experimental, cutting-edge, and innovative projects through technology.

 

Current Online Exhibition

 

ILSE SCHREIBER-NOLL: NATURE, AND NATURE DEFILED

The current Vassar Library exhibition focuses on two related themes in Schreiber-Noll’s work: nature, and nature defiled. The show therefore is divided into two sections. The first presents books by Schreiber-Noll that deal with nature and its beauty. Several different aspects of nature are treated: sun, sky, river, flowers, trees, insects. The second section deals with nature as it has been defiled; in other words, as it has been tainted by human activity and climate change. Here we see the effect of pollution on the earth, on waterways, on plant life, in our habitats. These artist’s books are part of a much larger oeuvre that includes woodcuts, paintings, sculpture, and multi-media. The examples shown here give some indication of an artist at work, trying to express both appreciation and concern for the natural world around us. On View January 26 - June 6, 2022 in the Main (Thompson) Library.

Visit the online exhibition here: https://vclibrary.vassarspaces.net/nature

To view additional online exhibitions see: https://library.vassar.edu/specialcollections/exhibitions 

The Catherine Pelton Durrell ’25 Archives and Special Collections Library is the principal repository of the College’s noteworthy collections of rare books, manuscripts, archival records of Vassar College, and other special materials.

 

Our Digital Library

 

The Vassar College Digital Library is managed by the Vassar College Libraries Digital Scholarship and Technology Services Department, led by Nicole H. Scalessa, in collaboration with the Archives and Special Collections Library and other members of the Vassar College Community. 

The Vassar College Digital Library will be officially moving to a new platform in June 2022. You may now view the following BETA collections in the NEW Digital Library: Finding Aids, Institutional Repository, and the Herbarium

To view our other collections, yet to be migrated, please see our legacy site here: https://digitallibrary.vassar.edu/